PCA Award For Trescothick

PCA Award For Trescothick

Somerset skipper Marcus Trescothick has been crowned as the Professional Cricketers Association's Player of the Year for the third time.

The former England opener, who won the award in 2000 and 2009, again captained his team to two one-day finals.

Trescothick amassed 2,518 runs in all forms of cricket to finish as the leading scorer in English cricket.

He also demonstrated his all-round game by hitting 544 runs in the FL t20, making 1,833 runs in all cricket.

The prolific Trescothick, 35, emulates the great Sir Richard Hadlee by becoming only the second player in the PCA's history to win the award three times.

And that at least helps make up for the fact that Somerset once again fell short in all three competitions this year, losing both the FL t20 final to Leicestershire and then the CB40 final to Surrey at Lord's, while fading late on in the County Championship.

But they do still at least have the chance to atone in the current Champions League Twenty20 in India.

Somerset, without Trescothick, have so far won two qualifying matches to reach the main draw.

Stuart Broad received the ODI Player of the Year and Darren Stevens the Sixes Season Award.

Return to News Headlines

Latest Blog

Marcus Trescothick

I'll get round to doing something here one day....

Latest Article:

My Sponsors


Buy Marcus's Latest Book

Marcus Trescothic: Coming back to me
Winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2008, it is more than a book about sport, Marcus' autobiography charts a ground-breaking journey to hell - and a redeeming journey back.